Statute Browser

Back to New Jersey Statutes

Section: Effect of definitions on treaties, compacts, or agreements

Statute: 11A:2-3

11A:2-3. Members; term; quorum; vacancies; chairperson. The Civil Service Commission shall consist of five members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate for staggered terms of four years and until the appointment and qualification of their successors. No more than three of the five members shall be of the same political party. Three members of the commission shall constitute a quorum. The holding over of an incumbent beyond the expiration of the term of office shall reduce, in commensurate length, the term of office of a successor. Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired terms, in the same manner as original appointments. No member shall hold any other State or federal office or position. The Governor shall designate one member to serve as the chairperson of the commission. The chairperson shall be the chief executive officer and administrator of the commission and shall devote full time to the duties of the position. The chairperson shall serve at the pleasure of the Governor. Amended 2008, c.29, s.3.

We hope you find our tools helpful, please visit for further information on our other free legal tools and products including LPO compliant legal case management software.